Bridge to Benefits - SD - WIC
Print View
  1. What is WIC?
  2. Who is eligibile for WIC?
  3. What services does WIC provide?

1. What is WIC?
WIC is a special nutrition program for eligible women, infants and children. WIC’s goal is to promote and maintain the health and well-being of women, infants and young children.

2. Who is eligibile for WIC?
WIC serves infants, children up to age 5 and eligible teens and women who  
  • are pregnant
  • are breast-feeding up to 12 months after delivery
  • have had a baby in the last six months

To be eligible, an applicant must:

  • Be a South Dakota resident,
  • Have a nutrition or health risk,
  • Meet income guidelines (you may complete the family income worksheet and take it with you to your visit),
  • Mothers, infants and children who meet WIC criteria and are on Medicaid, TANF or SNAP (formerly food stamps) automatically meet income guidelines for WIC. They must show a Medicaid card, TANF or SNAP information.

    If not eligible for Department of Social Services programs, an applicant's income must be determined.

    Salaried or hourly wage earners: Must provide proof of income with the most recent 1040 federal income tax form (line 22) or the average gross income of the two most recent check stubs calculated for annual income.

    Self-employed or farmers: Net income is used for self-employed persons and farmers. Use gross sales or income, minus operating expenses for annual income.

3. What services does WIC provide?
WIC provides:

  • Nutrition education and counseling on
    • choosing and using nutritious foods,
    • changing eating habits/lifestyles,
    • improving overall health,
    • answering food and nutrition questions,
  • Breast-feeding support
    • providing support & referral for breastfeeding,
    • education about the benefits of breastfeeding,
    • education about breast pumps,
    • providing breastfeeding peer counseling (limited),
  • Healthy foods based on individual needs
    • milk,
    • cereal,
    • whole grains,
    • juice,
    • fruits and vegetables,
    • peanut butter,
    • eggs,
    • dried and canned beans/peas,
    • canned fish (tuna, salmon, sardines),
    • infant formula, foods, cereal, 
  • Referral to
    • doctors/nurses,
    • community services,
    • health agencies,
    • social services agencies such as Medicaid, SNAP (food stamps), or TANF,
    • immunizations (if needed or referral).